Skip to main content

Social and Emotional Learning and Mental Health

Social and Emotional Learning

The Social Emotional Learning standards in Illinois provide a framework for educators to integrate SEL into their curriculum and instruction. These standards outline the specific skills and competencies that students should develop at each grade level, from pre-kindergarten through high school.

The SEL standards in Illinois cover five key components: self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, relationship skills, and responsible decision-making. Each component is further divided into specific domains that address various aspects of social and emotional development.

  • Self-Awareness

    Self-awareness is the ability to recognize and understand one’s own emotions, thoughts, and values. It involves being able to assess one’s strengths and weaknesses and have a realistic sense of self. Developing self-awareness is essential for building a positive self-image and fostering self-confidence.

  • Self-Management

    Self-management refers to the ability to regulate one’s emotions, thoughts, and behaviors in different situations. It involves setting and working towards goals, managing stress, and demonstrating self-discipline. Developing self-management skills empowers individuals to navigate challenges effectively and make positive choices.

  • Social Awareness

    Social awareness involves understanding and empathizing with the feelings, needs, and perspectives of others. It includes recognizing and appreciating diversity, showing empathy, and demonstrating respect for others. Developing social awareness fosters a sense of belonging and promotes positive relationships.

  • Relationship Skills

    Relationship skills refer to the ability to establish and maintain healthy and positive relationships with others. It involves effective communication, active listening, cooperation, and conflict resolution. Developing relationship skills enables individuals to build strong connections and work collaboratively with others.

  • Responsible Decision-Making

    Responsible decision-making involves making thoughtful and ethical choices based on consideration of the consequences. It includes problem-solving, critical thinking, and considering the well-being of oneself and others. Developing responsible decision-making skills empowers individuals to make choices that positively impact themselves and their communities.

Understanding the Social Emotional Learning standards in Illinois is crucial for fostering the social and emotional development of our children. By prioritizing SEL, educators, parents, and community members can create an environment that supports the overall well-being and academic success of students.

Information directly obtained from Everyday Speech Understanding the Social Emotional Learning Standards in Illinois: A Comprehensive Overview.To read the full article, please follow the link.,of%20social%20and%20emotional%20development.